UK Web Focus

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Blog statistics – 2006-11-11

Posted by Brian Kelly on 12 November 2006

In my “I’ve a Blog – What Next?” posting I described how I had created this Blog and included it in Technorati. I deliberately did not post details of the Blog on any email lists or inform anyone in order to investigate how the Technorati entry, followed by word of mouth (and, do we have an expression for this, word of Blog) would generate traffic.

Blog statistics The statistics for the Blog on 11 November 2006, 5 days after the first visits to the Blog, are shown.

So what has happened so far? A couple of people (whom I didn’t know) commented on the “I’ve a Blog – What Next?” posting. So there’s a clear advantage in posting an open question and inviting feedback and help.

My former colleague Paul Miller then spotted the Blog (possibly through Technorati? – Paul, can you tell me how you found it?) and emailed Michael Stevens and Phil Bradley, my fellow speakers at the ILI 2006 conference. Phil has commented on this Blog about my Blog as well as (as commented on in an earlier post) Michael in his Tame The Web Blog. Both of these are high profile Blogs – so it will be interesting to see how these posting affect the traffic to my Blog.
Incidentally the Blog is now number two in a Technorati search for ‘UKOLN’, as shown below.

technorati statistics for 11 11 2006

I’ll report on the statistics and comment on possible reasons for changes to the usage pattern in the future postings.

11 Responses to “Blog statistics – 2006-11-11”

  1. ajcann said

    Technorati, and Google Blog Search, are powerful tools (yeah, that’s how I found you). Interestingly, they don’t completely overlap.
    The nice things about both is that they will generate RSS feeds of search terms that you are interested in (“guy with a wooden leg who posts about UKOLN”) which you can then plug into your favourite blog aggregator (Bloglines, in my case) and follow the “river of news” with minimal effort.


    AJ Cann, Leicester, UK. Also blogging at:

    http://microbiologybytes.wordpress.com/

    http://scienceoftheinvisible.blogspot.com/

    http://iscience.wordpress.com/

    http://frogroom-podcast.blogspot.com/

  2. Tom Roper said

    And I’ve just found you through a Technorati watchlist I’ve set up; one of many, but this one looks for anyone who’s linked to me, and I get the results as an RSS feed.

  3. Brian

    I can’t remember for sure how I found it, but a quick skim would suggest that your explicit mentioning of my name or Talis’ here – http://ukwebfocus.wordpress.com/2006/11/06/scope-rationale-and-policy-for-this-blog/ – triggered one or other of my various alerts in NetNewsWire…

    Returning specifically to the point about Technorati et al, I increasingly find that no one of them is anything like comprehensive. As such, I have NNW set up to consume various (8 or 9 in each case) alert feeds from Technorati, from Google Blog Search, from Feedster, del.icio.us, Bloglines, Flickr, Yahoo, and Icerocket. It also, very usefully, runs broadly the same set of searches against all of the several hundred full text feeds to which I already subscribe, pushing ‘important’ posts on those feeds in front of me promptly.

  4. silversprite said

    You’ve been linked from Jenny (shifted librarian) and Lorcan (OCLC) blogs, so your hits are about to rocket.

  5. Matt Jukes said

    ..and I’ve just found you in my semi-regular search for JISC on Technorati and Google Blogsearch…think I am going to have a look at NetNewsWire now after Pauls comment above..

  6. silversprite said

    During the summer I ran a little personal experiment, in trying all manner of (legal) techniques in order to greatly boost the number of people who went to my blog.

    Most things failed. Two strategies that have worked are:

    1) Find other websites where you can comment on stories, that get lots of traffic (national newspapers are better than blogs). Keep an eye, possibly using Google Alerts to tell you quickly if there is a story on a topic directly related to your blog. Write a positive comment, included (in a contextually acceptable way) a link to your blog. Do this quickly so the comment as as near the top as possible.

    As an example, the Scotsman on Sunday did an article about tourism in the winter in the Outer Hebrides:

    http://news.scotsman.com/scotland.cfm?id=1713892006

    I got in with comment no. 7, weaving in a – relevant – link to my Outer Hebrides beach blog (a tag/subset of my main blog). Upshot is that I’ve had two days of record traffic.

    2) Mention “Angelina Jolie” in a blog posting. Loads of people flood off Technorati searches into the associated blog posting.

  7. Be interesting and link. That really is enough to get hits. Adding comments elsewhere, trackbacks etc. are all just increases on your base rate (and they’ll just be single-time hits if your content is rubbish).

    Or mention Angelina Jolie, of course.

  8. […] initial experiment is to revisit the experiments with Technorati I carried out shortly after I launched this blog. And, as can be seen when the blog was created it was ranked as […]

  9. Ejaz said

    I found you through google search. The graph shooted up on 11-06 gained peak on 11-08 and came down rapidly at 11-09
    So that speaks, you had left your blog open for discussion between 11-06 and 11-08?

  10. […] my UK Web Focus blog was registered with Technorati shortly after it was launched in November 2006, as I described shortly after the launch. As can be […]

  11. […] in November 2006 I described how I had registered this blog in Technorati.  I would suggest that other blog authors do this as it provides a simple way of getting […]

Leave a Reply

 
