UK Web Focus

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Archive for January 14th, 2007

Shared Approaches to Use of del.icio.us

Posted by Brian Kelly (UK Web Focus) on 14 January 2007

I commented previously about a number of blogs which have been published by JISC services (and I should have included the CETIS blogs in my summary). I suggested that it would be useful to give some thought to ways in which JISC services (and also JISC-funded projects) could share best practices and explore ways of maximising the impact of their blogging services. This is a topic I’ll return to shortly.

On a related area, looking at the referrer logs for this blog I noticed a couple of visits from a del.icio.us bookmark. Following the link back I found a link from CCuran‘s del.icio.us bookmarks. I then noticed that Randy Metcalfe of OSS Watch was included on CCuran’s network. I work closely with Randy (we gave a joint talk on What Does Openness Mean to the Web Manager? at last year’s Institutional Web Management Workshop, and we’ve recently been working on a joint paper on openness)  so I suspected his bookmarked resources would overlap with some of my areas of interest. One of his tags Randy used to bookmark resources which are also of interest to me is “communications_strategy“. His del.icio.us page for this tag is shown below.

del.icio.us page showing 'communications_strategy' tag

Myself and colleagues at UKOLN are looking at further developing our communications and marketing strategy – so Randy’s resources should prove useful to us.

The more general issue of sharing of bookmarks, using services such as del.icio.us, is an area I would like to develop further.  A few months ago I  realised that it would be useful for me to  bookmark  details of  venues I’ve used for events (or venues I have attended) and also good hotels I’ve stayed at.  So I’ve created a tag for recommended hotels (to remind me of the great, privately-run hotel in Edinburgh with free WiFi in bedrooms) and similarly for recommended venues.

With the JISC community many of us have an interest in finding good venues for events – and good hotels to stay in.  So rather than keeping a private copy of such information,  I think that del.icio.us would be a good, simple way of sharing such information.  There will obviously be a need to think about some of the limitations (e.g. the subjectivity of such preferences and concerns that one may be sued if negative comments are given) – but I think the reservations are minor and out-weighed by the benefits.

We’ll need to agree on the tags, I think.  But is this an idea worth pursuing?

Posted in Social Networking, Web2.0 | 11 Comments »