UK Web Focus

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Blog Day 2008

Posted by Brian Kelly on 31 August 2008

A tweet from joeyanne alerted me that today is Blog Day 2008.  As I only found out about this at 6.30 pm today I will have to be brief in my list of blogs that I find interesting.

The instructions for contributing to Blog Day are:

  1. Find 5 new Blogs that you find interesting
  2. Notify the 5 bloggers that you are recommending them as part of BlogDay 2008
  3. Write a short description of the Blogs and place a link to the recommended Blogs
  4. Post the BlogDay Post (on August 31st)

My blogs, which may not necessarily be new to many readers of this blog, I’m afraid are:

  1. The Ed Techie blog by Martin Weller, Professor of Educational Technology at the Open University – and someone I have had valuable Twitter discussions with.
  2. The unspun Electronic Museum blog, in which Mike Ellis argues passionately for the adoption of light weight Web 2.0 approaches within the museum community.
  3. The Digital Curation blog in which Chris Rusbridge, in particular, provides a remarkably refreshing insights into preservation issues, even going as far to ask whether the “Digital Preservation’ term [should be] considered harmful?“.
  4. The JISC Access Management Team blog, probably the liveliest of the blogs published by JISC programme managers.
  5. I mentioned Tony Hirst’s Ouseful blog in a previous list of my favourite blogs, but as that referred to an old version of the blog I feel I’m allowed to mention this blog again, which Tony uses to write copious summaries of his prolific development activities.

And as today is Blog Day I thought this would provide an opportunity to launch the first of a series of brief video blog posts entitled Video blog 1: Why I Blog which I am publishing in order to support a workshop on “Using Blogs Effectively Within Your Library” which my colleagues Marieke Guy and Ann Chapman will be facilitating at the ILI 2008 conference.

If you are a blogger and want to give the reasons why you blog why not sign up to Seesmic and respond to my post, explaining why you blog. You never know, you might get mentioned when Marieke and Ann run the workshop.  There’s a marketing opportunity for you, especially if you are a blogging librarian.

Technorati tag: BlogDay2008

2 Responses to “Blog Day 2008”

  1. Mike said

    Thanks for the mention. Is “unspun” good?

    Mike

  2. @Mike Not if you’re a press officer, but you can (sometimes) get away with it if you’re an obvious geek.

Leave a Reply

 
