UK Web Focus

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Archive for November 26th, 2008

COPAC Developers Get Blogs

Posted by Brian Kelly (UK Web Focus) on 26 November 2008

My colleague Paul Walk recently commented on developments to the COPAC services in a post entitled COPAC gets RESTful.  Paul linked to a blog post on the COPAC developer’s blog which described how the COPAC service now provides Persistent identifiers for Copac records.

I was impressed with the COPAC blog when I came across a post which asked the question To Google or not to Google. This post raised the issue of the tensions between the user benefits of providing links to Google Books from the COPAC service and the privacy concerns expressed by “a vociferous few who questioned why Copac would give Google ‘personal data’ about them as users“.

I feel that raising these issues in an open fashion is to be applauded. And it is far better that this is done on a blog, rather than being trapped in the confines of a COPAC mailing list, which would probably only be read by hardcore COPAC users.

And this is my response to the comment made on this blog recently in which a software developer argued that “the fact that I choose not to talk about work on the internet should have no bearing on my ability to create scalable, secure, and accessible services“.  I feel that the IT profession should be talking more openly with the user community and with other IT developers.

My thanks to the COPAC team for demonstrating how this should be done.  Let’s hope that other national services in the JISC community follow COPAC’s lead.

Posted in Web2.0 | 1 Comment »