UK Web Focus

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Using RebelMouse to Summarise How You Use Twitter

Posted by Brian Kelly on 31 July 2012

Back in February 2011 I asked Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper! I was a fan of the Smartr app which provided a personalised newspaper based on the content of links tweeted by people I followed on Twitter or on Twitter lists I had created. Despite the fact that Smartr no longer exists, a wide range of similar personalised news services are now available which appear to be particularly useful on table devices and mobile phones.

Yesterday I came across RebelMouse which initially appeared to provide a similar service. However after having had my application for an account approved I realised that RebelMouse was providing something slightly different – it was providing others with a display of the content of links which I tweet. As described in a post entitled Why This Month-Old Startup Is The Most Promising To Launch In A While “RebelMouse is a snapshot of your social media activity“. The article went on to explain how:

RebelMouse is like a Facebook profile page; it’s meant to help other people learn your interests.

When you scan other people’s Rebel Mouse pages, you learn a lot about them, even if you already follow them on Twitter. It resurfaces things you may have missed in social media streams in a visually compelling way.

In March 2010 in a post entitled It Started With A Tweet I described the importance of one’s Twitter bio and the link to further information which can help potential followers to decide whether to follow an unknown Twitter user, especially in cases in which Twitter is used to support professional activities. Two years later I realise that such decision-making processes can be helped by providing an easy-to-digest summary of a Twitter user use of Twitter.

I’ve therefore created my RebelMouse page and have also embedded it within the UKOLN Web site. In addition I have  updated my Twitter biographical details to include a link to the RebelMouse account, as illustrated.

To summarise in an application-independent way:

As part of my open practices which support my professional activities I will make it easy for others to see how I use Twitter so that potential followers can decide whether to follow my Twitter account.

I’m currently using RebelMouse to achieve this goal but will be willing to use an alternative should I come across a service which I feel supports this goal more effectively.

3 Responses to “Using RebelMouse to Summarise How You Use Twitter”

  1. Aaron Tay said

    Now imagine what a institution account could do…

    • Yes, I agree. The ability to be able to provide an attractive display of links which had been tweeted by a University, a Library, etc. would seem to make this an appealing tool to used. However since RebelMouse requires permission to be granted for the service to be able to update your content, this would cause concerns, especially from an institutional perspective.

  2. [...] Using RebelMouse to Summarise How You Use Twitter [...]

Leave a Reply

 
