UK Web Focus

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Archive for April 26th, 2010

A New Twitter Account For WWW 2010

Posted by Brian Kelly (UK Web Focus) on 26 April 2010

This week I’m in Raleigh, North Carolina for the WWW 2010 conference. This involves a week of events, including tutorials on Monday, workshops on Tuesday and the FutureWeb conference (which runs in parallel with the more research-focussed WWW 2010 conference) on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

I visited the conference venue on Sunday and tested the WiFi network – everything was fine, but whether that will be the case when the conference starts remains to be seen.

My preparation for the conference has been to set up a new Twitter account, @briank_live, which I intend to use for live conference blogging.

I now use a number of Twitter accounts: @briankelly is my main one (which I use for both work and social purposes), @ukwebfocus (which provides automated updates of new blog posts and other RSS feeds and now @briank_live.

I wonder if we are seeing greater use of multiple Twitter accounts or is this still a minority use case? I also wonder what names people who have multiple accounts are using to relate their multiple Twitter ‘personalities’? I used the _live suffix based on Mike Nolan’s @mikenolanlive approach, which he describes in his Twitter bio: “I’m usually @MikeNolan – Web Manager at Edge Hill University. This account is for live tweeting events“. What approaches are you taking? And do you think multiple Twitter accounts for different uses is helpful, or does it fragment the content?

Posted in Events, Twitter | 5 Comments »