UK Web Focus (Brian Kelly)

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Email Delivery Of Blog Posts

Posted by Brian Kelly on 5 Feb 2007

A while ago I published an Ariadne article on “Must Email Die?” in which I suggested that email was being used for purposes for which it was less than ideal. RssFwd Web site

I am, however, well aware of the simplicity of email, and the fact that information comes to you, rather than you having to go to the information.

So although I’ve suggested that an RSS reader is the best way of reading blogs, I know that many users would prefer to continue to make use of email. My latest blog experiment is therefore
testing various RSS to email services.

The first one I’ve started to test is RssFwd. To use this, just go to the RssFwd Web site and enter the URL of the feed you wish to receive (for this blog, this is https://ukwebfocus.wordpress.com/feed) and your email address. After you have verified your email address, you should receive email message containing new blog postings.

I should point out that this uses a third party service to deliver the email.  So there can be no guarantee that this service is sustainable  and I don’t know how reliable the service is (how long does it take to deliver messages, for example).  However I have subscribed to the service myself and will give a report at a later date.

5 Responses to “Email Delivery Of Blog Posts”

  1. Give R-mail a try. I’ve used it for a while very happily.

    http://www.r-mail.org/

  2. randymorin said

    Rmail is profitable and therefor sustainable.

  3. ajcann said

    Thanks for the headsup again Brian. I’ve also setup a link on my blog, and, if you remind me in a month or so, I’ll let you know how it goes …

  4. I use FeedBlitz which has some integration with FeedBurner. However FeedBurner also offers their own internal email service as well. I turned it on mainly out of general inclusiveness, never expecting anyone to use it, but I actually have 20 email subscribers.

  5. I’d recommend Randy’s service. He links to his wordpress linkblog but is better know for “The RSS Blog” on http://www.kbcafe.com/rss/

Leave a comment