UK Web Focus (Brian Kelly)

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Is Pownce The Answer?

Posted by Brian Kelly on 22 Jan 2008

In the recent discussion about Twitter there was a feeling, from some, that it wasn’t well-suited for discussions. Indeed Andy Powell commented:

i think you are right to question whether using Twitter for one-to-one or few-to-few conversations is the right approach. i (eventually) stopped Twittering on Friday cos it felt like we were mis-using it.

And yet a few minutes ago I smiled at the following comments from Andy, Paul Miller and Pete Johnston:

andypowe11 The moment i wake up / before i put on my makeup / i tweet a little tweet for you … from im Icon_star_empty

paulmiller @andypowe11 – makeup?

PeteJ @paulmiller: (senior staff)

Brilliant! I have to admit, I enjoy Pete’s witticisms. But if on Twitter you follow Pete or Paul but not Andy, you’ll miss the context and just get the two of them talking about make-up with the reference ot the Aretha Franklin song.

The pithy one-liners are useful, I feel, but I’m not convinced that Twitter is the best tool for this.

But also on today’s Twitter feed I received an announcement from TechCrunch saying that Pownce is now open to subscription, after a closed testing period. The Pownce About me page states that:

Pownce is a way to send stuff to your friends. What kind of stuff? You can send just about anything: music, photos, messages, links, events, and more. You can do it all on our web site, or install our lightweight desktop software that lets you get out of the browser.

Now isn’t our requirement to send stuff (witticisms, jokes and useful snippets of information)? Time for experimentation, I think. And it might be useful to subscribe quickly – before your preferred user id is taken.

4 Responses to “Is Pownce The Answer?”

  1. Ian Usher said

    How about tumblr? Or does that lose the group side of things?

  2. shaidorsai said

    @Ian funnily enough, I’ve just suggested tumblr.com to Brian as well. Easy sign up, easy to use – just have to turn off my RSS feed from twitter.

    Have you looked at jaiku? Easy to set channels up with that, but still in beta. I have some invites (10) if required…

  3. Ta for the suggestions for alternatives. I’ve previously signed upo for Jaiku and Tumblr – but never used them in anger. Am currently evaluating Pownce – feel free to get in touch.

  4. […] as usual had a look to see if his blog was interesting.  It is, and I’ve joined in with his Pownce  experimenting  – you can find me […]

Leave a comment