UK Web Focus (Brian Kelly)

Innovation and best practices for the Web

  • Email Subscription (Feedburner)

  • Twitter

    Posts on this blog cover ideas often discussed on Twitter. Feel free to follow @briankelly.

    Brian Kelly on Twitter Counter

  • Syndicate This Page

    RSS Feed for this page

    Licence

    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 UK: England & Wales License. As described in a blog post this licence applies to textual content published by the author and (unless stated otherwise) guest bloggers. Also note that on 24 October 2011 the licence was changed from CC-BY-SA to CC-BY. Comments posted on this blog will also be deemed to have been published with this licence. Please note though, that images and other resources embedded in the blog may not be covered by this licence.

    Contact Details

    Brian's email address is ukwebfocus@gmail.com. You can also follow him on Twitter using the ID briankelly. Also note that the @ukwebfocus Twitter ID provides automated alerts of new blog posts.

  • Contact Details

    My LinkedIn profile provides details of my professional activities.

    View Brian Kelly's profile on LinkedIn

    Also see my about.me profile.

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Privacy

    Cookies

    This blog is hosted by WordPress.com which uses Google Analytics (which makes use of 'cookie' technologies) to provide the blog owner with information on usage of this blog.

    Other Privacy Issues

    If you wish to make a comment on this blog you must provide an email address. This is required in order to minimise comment spamming. The email address will not be made public.

A New Twitter Account For WWW 2010

Posted by Brian Kelly on 26 Apr 2010

This week I’m in Raleigh, North Carolina for the WWW 2010 conference. This involves a week of events, including tutorials on Monday, workshops on Tuesday and the FutureWeb conference (which runs in parallel with the more research-focussed WWW 2010 conference) on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

I visited the conference venue on Sunday and tested the WiFi network – everything was fine, but whether that will be the case when the conference starts remains to be seen.

My preparation for the conference has been to set up a new Twitter account, @briank_live, which I intend to use for live conference blogging.

I now use a number of Twitter accounts: @briankelly is my main one (which I use for both work and social purposes), @ukwebfocus (which provides automated updates of new blog posts and other RSS feeds and now @briank_live.

I wonder if we are seeing greater use of multiple Twitter accounts or is this still a minority use case? I also wonder what names people who have multiple accounts are using to relate their multiple Twitter ‘personalities’? I used the _live suffix based on Mike Nolan’s @mikenolanlive approach, which he describes in his Twitter bio: “I’m usually @MikeNolan – Web Manager at Edge Hill University. This account is for live tweeting events“. What approaches are you taking? And do you think multiple Twitter accounts for different uses is helpful, or does it fragment the content?

5 Responses to “A New Twitter Account For WWW 2010”

  1. Mike Nolan said

    I should mention that I got the idea from Martin Belam (aka @currybet / @currybet_live).

    I’ve found it can be quite a useful way of making quick notes about an event out of context of your normal Twitter stream so you don’t have give detail about an event.

    In the past when I’ve used the live account I’ve cross promoted with my normal account, for example at the end of the day announcing:

    MikeNolanLive: I normally tweet at @MikeNolan – I can’t promise to be interesting – #plug #iwmc #iwmw2009

    And announce from my main account a couple of times during the day interesting things that someone could see on the live stream.

  2. Ian Cooper said

    I suspect cases like this would be less necessary if it were easier to configure twitter clients to show timelines excluding particular hashtags. For example, during the #debill debate I had several contacts tweeting away at >2 tweets/minute, which completely filled my timeline. It made me seriously consider unfollowing them as it was completely impossible to see what else was going on.

    In the meantime these secondary accounts are a good way to not lose followers, I suspect ;-) (but please take Mike’s advice and cross-tweet (retweet) the really interesting stuff)

  3. I nicked the idea from Mike and have been using @spellerlive for about a year now. At a conference people follow the hashtag, not the people. This means that as long as you hashtag your secondary account properly no one should have to follow you (unless they want to via the cross-referral mentioned by Mike above). The problem with too many secondaries is that a unique email address is required to associate with each Twitter account and you soon run out of email addresses!! Unless someone knows different…

  4. […] I’m going to use a “live” account (this is something I’ve seen @MikeNolan do very effectively as @MikeNolanLive) for conferences and the like.  However I’m finding it hard to see the […]

  5. Hi, of course this piece of writing is in fact good and I have learned lot of things
    from it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

Leave a comment