UK Web Focus (Brian Kelly)

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper!

Posted by Brian Kelly on 4 Feb 2011

At about 7am this morning I noticed an interesting Facebook status update from Kerim Friedman, an anthopologist I’d met in Taiwan a few years ago. The status update came from a tweet from @Kerim:

If you use Twitter as your news reader, you really should try the “Smartr” iPhone app: http://smartr.mobi/ Nicely done!

This sounded interesting so I installed the app on my iPod Touch – and was impressed. As described in a pithy summary in a post on Mashable a few days ago “Smartr is a news reader for Twitter on the iPhone“. The post went on to add:

Instead of seeing tweets, the Smartr user views a Twitter feed filled with news snippets. “It’s a lens on top of your Twitter Feed,” says Factyle founder Temo Chalasani.

Users can click on updates in the filtered Twitter stream to read a Smartr reformatted, ad-free version of the article, share it with Facebook, Tumblr or Posterous, and choose to save it in-app or via Instapaper or Read it Later.

I tried it and was impressed. Later at work I created a Twitter list of official Twitter channels from a number of JISC services of particular interest to me. This provides a stream of official summaries of work from the various services, including links to further information, as illustrated. As can be seen this provides a summary of various reports, blog posts, news items, etc. In effect this provides the metadata for the resources and a link to the resources. But what of the resources themselves? The links need to be followed and, if like me, you use a device such as an iPod Touch you may download your tweets (and email messages and blog posts) before you head off to work to read on the bus, but aren’t able to follow any links whilst offline.

Smartr, however, follows the links to resources in your main Twitter feed or feeds in any Twitter lists you have created – i.e. it provides access to the data rather than the metadata. As illustrated the app provides a summary of the first few lines of the resource, which can then be viewed in full and also saved for reading later.

I’m impressed. In particular I think it will be useful for use with official Twitter feeds for which there is likely to be some consistency in the links which are shared, unlike the Twitter feeds from one’s followers which is likely to be a mixture of work and social links being shared (and if you follow people from around the globe they may be sharing their social interests during our working day).

This use of official Twitter accounts for resource sharing and ease of access on mobile devices is very interesting – and goes against the suggestions from Ferdinand von Prondzynski, former President of Dublin City University and forthcoming Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Robert Gordon University who, in a post on Institutional Tweets criticised typical institutional use of Twitter since “all tweets are …. announcements, either of some research project or other or of something the university wants to sell“; Twitter, he seems to feel, is a social medium and such only be used for conversations and not broadcasting. I disagree – Twitter, like all IT applications, is a tool and if it can be used successfully in novel ways I would applaud such innovation.

But, like Robert Murdoch’s The Daily newspaper for the iPad, is such innovative use proprietary? Not necessarily as it’s based on open data (tweets and links) and applications to read such information can be developed on any platform and there are other applications, such as paper.li, which provide similar functionality. For me Smartr seems  to provide strengths in being designed for a mobile device and I can see myself using it until competition catches up and provides similar functionality for my Android phone.   But to not make use of it because it is not cross-platform would deprive me of a potentially useful service.

Still unsure? Why not watch the video which is available on YouTube and embedded below. And if you’d like to install it visit the Apple iTunes store.


NOTE: On 5 March 2012 I received the following email:

Dear user,
Unfortunately, the Smartr team is moving on to new things and is unable to support its continued development. With a heavy heart, we will be pulling the plug on the service on the 15th of March @ 1pm EST.

Although Smartr no longer exists, I think it did provide an indication of a new generation of personalised newspaper, which could provide content based on Twitter feeds.

Note added on 22 August 2012.

10 Responses to “Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper!”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brian Kelly and Brian Kelly, Brian Kelly. Brian Kelly said: Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalied Daily Newspaper!: At about 7am this morning I noticed an… http://bit.ly/eydbpf […]

  2. Do you iPad? Flipboard is the future. If anyone knows of any efforts to bring Flipboard’s auto layouts and page turning to HTML5 I’d be interested to hear it. Personalised newspapers / magazine apps embedded around (university) websites may the missing link to bringing the long tail of news to those who can’t be bothered with RSS readers or Twitter.

  3. Santy said

    Yep, fortunately these smart aggregators have become common and anyone can be a Murdoch now, even me! http://paper.li/santychumbe

    What we, at JournalTOCs, think would be useful for academics and researchers is personalised “Murdoch” news papers for researchers, where they could read every morning the headlines (article titles) for the articles (publication’s abstracts) published in the journals they find relevant in their disciplines ((perhaps putting in the “front page” the publications (news) citing the researcher’s own work, and then the ones that cite their colleagues’ works, and so on?). We got the idea, we just need a little pennies!

    Santy
    BTW RSS is still alive!

  4. […] captured screen shots of the Twitter’s mobile client, Tweetdeck and Smartr (see recent post) and added text which showed the benefits of Tweetdeck’s columns for providing filtered […]

  5. […] access to Ariadne articles. In particular we have recently been evaluating the Smartr service. As described previously Smartr can be regarded as a news reader for Twitter on the iPhone (and iPod Touch). I’ve been […]

  6. […] in February in a post entitled Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper I described the Smartr personalised Twitter-based personalised newspaper service for the iPhone, […]

  7. […] February 2011 in a post in which I suggested Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper! I described the first mobile app I had encountered which provided this functionality.  A year […]

  8. […] of sources including RSS feeds, Facebook and Twitter. Further examples can be seen in the post on  Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper! – although the Smartr app is no longer available the post illustrates the concept of how a […]

  9. […] in February 2011 I asked Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper! I was a fan of the Smartr app which provided a personalised newspaper based on the content of […]

  10. […] on the number of Twitter lists which the accounts are included in (as described in a post on Who Needs Murdoch – I’ve Got Smartr, My Own Personalised Daily Newspaper! we may start to see Twitter lists being used in a number of interesting […]

Leave a comment