UK Web Focus (Brian Kelly)

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Tweetboard: Adding Twitter To Web Pages

Posted by Brian Kelly on 24 Sep 2009

I was recently alerted to a blog post on TechCrunch entitled “Tweetboard Launches Twitter Client And URL Shortener“. The article described how this service “lets you create a Twitter-powered forum on any site“. In addition Tweetboard provides  “the ability to view discussions as a thread, similar to what you’d find on FriendFeed or Facebook“.

The Tweetdeck application

This sounded interesting so I signed up for a (free) Tweetboard account and created a page in which I added the HTML code to create the embedded interface.

An screenshot of my experiment is illustrated.

As can be seen the tool provides a threaded view of replies to tweets – something I’ve not seen before but a feature which does seem popular in FriendFeed.

However as has been pointed out, the service does seem slow (although I wonder if this might be due to the increased usage of the service which the TechCrunch article may have generated) and the tweet display  cannot be moved.

Now although many experienced Twitter users may be interested in the threaded replies feature I suspect that a typical response is likely to be “So what? There are lots of good twitter clients available – why should I be interested in this one?“. This may be true, but will this approach be a useful way of introducing new Twitter users to the service, in a specific context of use.  At an amplified event, might an event page with this embedded interface prove useful, I wonder? And if the HTML <script> fragment can be embedded in more mainstream applications environments – such as a VLE, for example – might this be a way of embedding Twitter functionality in the context of existing widely used services? Hmm, might there be life in the VLE yet?

3 Responses to “Tweetboard: Adding Twitter To Web Pages”

  1. Emma said

    Got it into a VLE site (WebCT Vista) – though I’ve used my Blog URL as the base URL, so I probably need to alter it.
    However, I’m also contemplating using twitter for feedback during lecture, so might continue to investigate.
    tweetboard

  2. Emma said

    Hmm… I’ve just realised that you’ve got all tweets that you can see (i.e. yours & others), where I only get to see mine.
    Wonder what I have done wrong.

  3. […] Tweetboard: Adding Twitter To Web Pages […]

Leave a comment