UK Web Focus (Brian Kelly)

Innovation and best practices for the Web

Further Experiments With Slidecasts

Posted by Brian Kelly on 27 Aug 2007

I have been carrying out some further experiments with Slideshare’s Slidecast facility, which allows uploaded presentations to be synched with audio.

In a previous post on the Slidecast service I was self-conscious of my ums and errs, perhaps because I was giving the talk along in my office and was thinking about both what I was talking about and the technology itself.

For a more recent Slidecast on Blogs, Wikis, Podcasting and All That I prepared a script of what I was intending to say and used that as the basis of the talk (although I did not necessarily read the script faithfully). I am more pleased with the audio, this time, although whether this is because I am more comfortable with the application, and not necessarily due to me preparing the script is not yet clear. And I still need to work on the best ways for managing Audacity, the open source application I use for recording and editing the audio. I also discovered that the text included in screen dumps couldn’t be read in the Slidecast, so I’ll have to address that issue as well.

I recently discussed these issues with Andy Powell and Bernadette Swanson (nee Daly), both former colleagues of mine at UKOLN. A suggestion Bernadette made was to had a few drinks before recording the sound track, as this would put you more at ease. I haven’t (yet) tried this approach, but it might be something to bear in mind.

How have others addressed the concerns that many of us probably have about how they sound on a recording?

Technorati Tags: slidecast

One Response to “Further Experiments With Slidecasts”

  1. AJ Cann said

    Yes. It’s my theory that any sane person hates the sound of their own recorded voice. I know this includes many professional broadcasters.
    Depending on the tone you are aiming for, (level of formality), while making a recording, try vizualizing either talking to a friend, or making a presentation to a small group.
    As an experiment, if you can bear it, actually have a real friend sit with you while you make the recording and listen to the difference it makes to your voice. Then try to recreate that mental experience when you record future presentations.

Leave a comment